Summer goals + things I’ve already done!

I have received a fellowship from the graduate school at Tufts to work on my dissertation this summer – hooray! But, I have a number of other things that need to be finished over the course of the summer as well. I am breaking up my goals and schedule into dissertation and other projects, including this blog. I am mainly listing the dissertation goals here so that I have something to be accountable to (the internet).  Here we go!

Dissertation: 

– Reread Falkner by Mary Shelley (one of the primary works in my dissertation) before starting to write about it

– Compile a list of quotes and scenes I could possibly use for the chapter

– Research around Falkner and do a lot of book and article reading (right now, my reading list includes Family Likeness by Mary Jean Corbett and The Orphaned Imagination by Giunn Batten)

– Put together at least an outline of a draft of my Falkner chapter; hopefully, at least a partially written draft by the end of the summer

Other work:

– Post on the blog about what I’m doing dissertation-wise at least once a week; I’m hoping this extra pressure will help keep me actually working

– Put together a new English 1 syllabus for the fall

– Participate in reading and writing groups (a Spatial Theory reading group, plus a writing group featuring mostly post-docs)

Recreational/hobby things: 

– Start going to exercise classes; either yoga or rejoin the Y

– go to many beaches! Post pictures!

– Floss more. You know?

– Cook everything, and go to Sarma right down the road

– Gardening! I have recently started a little garden in the back of my house, and I hope to actually keep it alive. After it stops raining here, I’ll take pictures and post updates. I have some herbs (rosemary, dill, and thyme) and a few veggies (cucumbers, zucchini squash, and a small little kale plant)

These are fairly reasonable, I think. I am always wary of either underselling myself when it comes to what I can get done or completely overloading my life with so much that I can’t help but be mediocre. Hopefully I can accomplish most of these goals without compromising how well I do them.

But now, I would like to share some things that I HAVE accomplished this summer (and by accomplished I mean I went on vacation). The dissertation prospectus has been approved, and I am filing in on Thursday (finally! woohoo! hooray!) though not without some qualifications from my advisor, as per usual. Meanwhile, I attended two beautiful weddings, and I went to the beach! Funny story: one of my best friends Cori got married about 3 days after she became a Doctor of Medicine – quite the feat! But of course people made a bigger deal out of her wedding…typical. Here are Cori and Matt.

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 12.58.58 PM

Two weeks after Cori got married, my cousin Tory got married (yeah, this is my life. Cori, then Tory). Tory and James’s wedding was a much more formal affair.

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 12.59.28 PM

Very fancy! My little purse matched the decor. Here’s me and my fancy mom with our fancy hair and fancy dresses and all other things fancy:

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 12.59.42 PM

Between these two lovely but very different nuptial gatherings, I decided it was high time for an actual vacation laying on the beach doing nothing but reading Game of Thrones and drinking beer. Judy came with!

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 12.59.15 PM

So, while I did accomplish finishing the prospectus (sort of), my other accomplishments could more suitably be called…diversions. Or, pleasure pursuits. Or…just things I did that were fun and involved booze 😀

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

