Creativity Camp, and a year of my life

I am currently sitting in a windmill in West Yarmouth, surrounded by white wood-paneled walls, strange nooks filled with fake flowers, and sea shell-encrusted tissue box holders, complete with iron spiral staircase and cozy turret bedroom. My housemates and I are spending a weekend here and calling it Creativity Camp: giving ourselves time to write, think, read, make home movies for our web series, all sorts of nonsense, all in the comforts of someone else’s home.

I decided to write a blog post for my first activity of Creativity Camp. I don’t have any pictures of this place yet, so instead I wanted to give myself space for a brief retrospective. I think I’ll work backwards.

For New Years, we set this German drink on fire:

20151231_214148

Mareike wielded the ladle of fire with precarious aplomb.

For Christmas, I was home in Georgia with family. I got to see the Gravitt’s:

Gravitts.JPG

And the Story’s:

SAMSUNG CSC

And got to spend lots of time with my brother, sister-in-law, and niece:

SAMSUNG CSC

Audrey and Bryce are always the life of the party:

SAMSUNG CSC

 

Before my trip to Georgia, though, the Gazebo threw a post-apocalyptic themed Christmas party, “Apocalypse SNOW.” Everyone was required to attend in their best festive desolate attire. Here are few shots that I think encapsulate the evening:

SAMSUNG CSC
Gazebo-ites
SAMSUNG CSC
I really wore this all night.
SAMSUNG CSC
And Zach wore this all night…
SAM_0820-ANIMATION
This pretty much sums it up.

 

I mean, what could top a gif of Erin and I singing to Lady Gaga in crazy costumery? Only one thing, folks: cookware.

SAMSUNG CSC

My very first le creuset. I bought it for myself this past fall because guess what? I’m a grown ass woman. Here’s its inaugural voyage:

Then, Judy, like the saint that she is, bought me another for Christmas!

green creuset

It’s a bright light in a dark land. On a garbage island full of garbage people, these will last a lifetime.

Tata for now,

B

Leave a Reply

